SWA Awards 2020 presented to 15 winners in Feature Films, TV & Web series

SWA Awards 2020 Presented To 15 Winners In Feature Films, TV & Web Series
Films ‘Article 15’ and ‘Soni’and ‘Gully Boy’ win big
Vishal &Rekha Bhardwaj and Varun Grover perform at the event
Mumbai, September 27, 2020: The first ever SWA Awards 2020, organized by the Screenwriters Association, to felicitate screenwriters and lyricists was held yesterday and was a thundering success. Hosted by actors Varun Badola and RajeshwariSachdeva, the event focused mainly on the writers – with the jury members who are eminent screenwriters, directors and show creators themselves announcing the winners among almost 90 nominees in 15 categories in Feature Films, TV Shows, Web Series and Lyrics.
The evening exuded a lot of charm and a celebratory tone with several performers – Writer, producer and director Aatish Kapadia doing a comedy sketch on how the world generally behaves with writers, Writer and stand-up comic Varun Grover taking potshots at the Hindi film and television industry on the bizarre writing inputs and notes that screenwriters often receive; Poets and lyricists Shellee and Hussain Haidry doing a lyrical jugalbandi on the hardships and joys of being a writer and mentalist AkshayLaxman weaving his illusionary magic on audience members. The evening concluded with a soulful performance of two songs by singer Rekha Bhardwaj and screenwriter, filmmaker and composer Vishal Bhardwaj.
The first ever SWA Awards 2020 was held online and the buzz was palpable as the jury panels announced the awards in various categories.
The jury comprising of AnandMahendroo, Ajai Sinha, Kamlesh Pandey, LiliputFaruqui, Manjul Sinha, PurnenduShekhar and Sanjay Upadhyay announced the winners in the TV shows categories:
1. TV Comedy- Best Story: Nitin Keswani for Taarak Mehta KaOoltahChashmah
2. TV Comedy- Best Dialogues: Bhavna Vyas for BaavleUtaavle
3. TV Comedy- Best Screenplay: Aatish Kapadia for Bhakharwadi
4. TV Drama- Best Story: No Award
5. TV Drama- Best Dialogues: PreetiMamgain for Mere Dad Ki Dulhan
6. TV Drama- Best Screenplay: KartickSitaraman for Mere Dad Ki Dulhan
The jury comprising of RuchiNarain, SuhailTatari&SwekshaBhagat for Web Original Drama; JuhiShekhar, ReshuNath& Shiv Subrahmanyam for Web Original Comedy; and AnuraadhaTewari, AnuyaJakatdar&KetkiPandit for Web Adaptation announced the winners in the Web Series categories:
7. Web Series- Best Original Drama: Richie Mehta &Sanyuktha Chawla Shaikh for Delhi Crime
8. Web Series-Best Original Comedy: DevikaBhagat&IshitaMoitra for Four More Shots Please!
9. Web Series- Best Adaptation: DhruvNarang, NihitBhave, Pooja Tolani and Varun Grover for Sacred Games – Season2
The jury comprising of Amit Khanna, Ila Arun, KausarMunir, MayurPuri&PanchhiJalonvi announced the winners in the Lyrics categories:
10. TV/Web- Best Lyrics: Zama Habib for the song EkChup Tum, EkChup Main from the show IshaaronIshaaron Mein
11. Feature Films-Best Lyrics: Manoj Muntashir for the song Teri Mitti from the film Kesari
The jury comprising of ApurvaAsrani, AshwinyIyerTowari and Leena Yadav announced the winner in the Best Gender Sensitive Script category:
12. Best Gender Sensitive Script: Ivan Ayr &Kislay for Soni
The jury comprising of Ashok Mishra, Atul Tiwari, JuhiChaturvedi, Saket Chaudhary, UrmiJuvekar, Vijay Krishna Acharya and Vinay Shukla announced the winners in the Feature Films categories:
13. Feature Films- Best Debut Writer: Ivan Ayr &Kislay for Soni
14. Feature Films- Best Dialogues: Vijay Maurya for Gully Boy
15. Feature Films- Best Story: Anubhav Sinha & Gaurav Solanki for Article 15
16. Feature Films- Best Screenplay: Anubhav Sinha & Gaurav Solanki for Article 15
Several members from the board of Screenwriters Association spoke at the occasion – Robin Bhatt, president; Sunil Salgia, Gen Secretary; and EC members Satyam Tripathy, Shellee, Manisha Korde, KetkiPandit and Anj umRajabali.
The event can be viewed on Screenwriters Association’s YouTube Channel at https://youtu.be/A0-EWP4vPSk and on their Facebook Page.
About SWA
The Screenwriters Association (formerly Film Writers’ Association) is a trade union of screenwriters and lyricists who work for Films, TV and Digital Media in India. With a membership of over 20,000 writers, SWA safeguards the interests, rights, compensation and privileges of its members in all matters relating to their professional engagement and working conditions. It has been working for the last 60 years to get the Indian film and TV industries to acknowledge the central role of writers through collective bargaining, legal assistance, mediation and settlement of disputes and education.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *